For a Free Consultation
Minors in Possession of Alcohol
Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 138 Section 34C prohibits minors from knowingly possessing, transporting or carrying alcohol. Exempted from this law are persons between the ages of 18 and 21 who carry alcohol in the course of employment. This crime is punishable by a fine of up to $50 for a first offense and a fine of up to $150 for second or subsequent offense. If you are convicted of this crime, it will be reported to the registrar of motor vehicles, and your license will be suspended for 90 days.How Serious is the Crime of Minor in Possession of Alcohol?
While these relatively small fines do not seem very serious, having a MIP on your record can create hardship down the line. High school students applying to college will have to explain the MIP in such applications, as will college student applying to graduate schools. An MIP can also come up in trying to obtain a professional license and in applying for jobs. Both parents and the minor charged are typically very concerned with such consequences. Judges and district attorneys are usually sympathetic to people facing this charge particularly if the accused has no criminal record. We usually get these charges dismissed at the first court appearance. You should contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer if you have any questions about minors in possession of alcohol.Massachusetts Criminal Defense Lawyer
Stephen Neyman has more than 20 years of experience in criminal defense and can help you and your family to fight a minor in possession charge. The goal is to avoid having this on your criminal record so that your future will not be affected.
An aggressive criminal defense lawyer like Stephen Neyman can help you to avoid having to explain this on college and graduate school applications, in job interviews, and in all other such situations. Do not wait to contact a lawyer, because it is critical for the lawyer to become involved at the earliest moment possible.Law Offices of Stephen Neyman, P.C. (617) 263-6800
The Law Offices of Stephen Neyman, P.C. is a Boston-based criminal defense practice that represents individuals all over Massachusetts. If you or a loved one has been accused of being a minor in possession of alcohol, speak with Stephen Neyman today. He can help protect your future and do everything possible to make sure that there will be no obstacles in your way. You can reach Attorney Neyman’s office by calling (617) 263 6800 (24 hours a day and 7 days a week) or you can send him an e-mail.
In addition to minors in possession of alcohol, Stephen Neyman handles other crimes with which college students might find themselves charged. Arguments while drinking can sometimes lead to brawls, fist fights or property damage. Drinking can also lead to unsafe or regrettable sexual encounters that could provoke sex crimes accusations. Obviously, drunk driving is another possibility. Attorney Neyman successfully represents persons accused of:
- Drug crimes
- OUI/DUI/drunk driving
- Date rape
- Sexual assault
- Assault and battery
- Statutory rape
- Fake ID possession
- Disorderly conduct
If you have been charged with any of the above, or if you would like to talk about any other criminal matter in Massachusetts, contact the Law Offices of Stephen Neyman, P.C. today.