For a Free Consultation
Operating Without Being Licensed
Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 90 Section 10 requires anyone who operates a motor vehicle in Massachusetts to be licensed. If you are charged with violating this law the prosecutor must prove that you operated a motor vehicle that you did so on a public way and that you did not have a valid license to operate a motor vehicle at that time.
There are 7 exceptions to this statute:
- If you have a valid Massachusetts learner’s permit;
- If you are a nonresident licensed in your own state or country and if that jurisdiction reciprocates with Massachusetts ;
- If you are an active member of the armed forces and are licensed in the state where you are from;
- If you are licensed in another state or country and have applied for a Massachusetts license but are waiting to take the driver’s test and you have a 60 day temporary permit;
- You are licensed in another state and are the spouse of a member of the armed forces whom your accompanying on assignment to Massachusetts;
- You are a member of the armed forces having returned from duty outside of this country within 45 days; and
- You are a nonresident licensed where the vehicle is registered.
The penalty for a conviction of this offense is a $500 fine and up to 10 days in jail for a first offense. Subsequent offenses are punishable by 60 days to 1 year in jail.