For a Free Consultation
Dracut is a Greater Lowell suburb in Middlesex County with a population of almost 30,000. Dracut borders New Hampshire and the Massachusetts cities and towns of Tyngsboro, Lowell, Methuen, Tewksbury and Andover. Those travelling in between Dracut and the Boston area tend to take Route 113 and I-93. If you have been arrested and charged with drunk driving on any way in Dracut or elsewhere in Massachusetts, you should retain the services of a skilled drunk driving lawyer.Massachusetts Drunk Driving
In Massachusetts, Melanie’s Law governs drunk driving penalties, which are very strict. A first offense is punishable by up to 2.5 years in jail, a fine of between $500 and $5,000, loss of license for one year, and other costs and fees. Alternative dispositions are available for first and second offenses, and an alternative disposition may include years of probation, license suspension, alcohol education or treatment programs, installation of ignition interlock devices, and certain fees. The penalties increase significantly for second and subsequent offenses, and any offense after an OUI 2nd is a felony. Apart from the punishments outlined in the statute, an OUI charge can have a serious impact on many aspects of your professional and personal life.Trying Massachusetts OUI Cases
The OUI laws in Massachusetts are designed to motivate people accused of this crime to plead guilty as soon as possible. This is because by doing so you are likely to get your operating privileges back quicker. We caution our clients against rushing to plead guilty just to start driving sooner. Many of these cases are winnable by going to trial. Talk to us before simply trying to get a quick resolution to your case.Breathalyzer Tests
If you take a breathalyzer test and fail it by blowing a .08 or higher, then you will lose your license for 30 days. If, on the other hand, you refuse to take the breathalyzer (which you have the right to do), then the length of your license suspension will depend on how many prior convictions you have, as follows:
- If you have no priors, then the length of suspension will be 180 days.
- If you have one prior, then the length of suspension will be 3 years.
- If you have two priors, then the length of suspension will be 5 years.
- If you have three priors, then you will lose your license for life.
- If you are under 21, then the length of suspension will be 3 years.
- If you have a prior for OUI causing serious bodily injury, then the length of suspension will be 10 years.
If you are facing an OUI/DUI/DWI/drunk driving charge in Dracut or anywhere else in Massachusetts, call the Law Offices of Stephen Neyman, P.C. today. Attorney Neyman has more than 20 years of experience handling Massachusetts drunk driving cases, and he has been extremely successful.
Attorney Stephen Neyman has the expertise to get excellent results in any case. You can reach his office at (617) 263 6800 or you can send him an e-mail through this website. You will be able to get through to his office 24 hours a day and 7 days a week, so contact Attorney Neyman at your earliest convenience.